In 1995 the famous Schengen Agreement started operating, establishing an area of free movement among the participating countries, which are:

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


First, it is important to note that if a person is a European national (not resident but a national), he can travel within the Schengen area and the countries belonging to the EU presenting their Identity Document (DNI) or Passport.

However, citizens who are not European nationals and want to travel to one or more Schengen countries must obtain the appropriate Schengen visa with which they can enjoy free movement between these countries for a period that cannot exceed three months within a period of six. This visa can be requested for a one time visit or multiple visits which must be specified in the visa application.

The motives for requesting a Schengen visa can be:


  • Family visit
  • Business
  • Tourism
  • For cultural, artistic, sports, religious activities, etc.
  • Medical Service
  • Marines in transit
  • For studies
  • For spouses, children or children of the spouse of EU citizens.

Applications for these visas must be submitted at the embassy of the country you wish to travel to in the place of residence of the person concerned. In case of traveling to more than one country it should be presented at the embassy of the country in which the stay will be for a longer period and if the period is equal, the embassy of the first country that you intend to visit in your itinerary.

If you are considering travelling to some of the countries mentioned and you wish to request a Schengen visa or have any questions in relation to the process, do not hesitate in contacting with Daemi Zabalza & Asociados in order to be advised by our team of experienced and specialised lawyers.